IAAF unveils finalists for Athletes of the Year

The world athletics governing body, IAAF has announced the list of the finalists for the 2016 IAAF World Athlete of the Year awards.
In the male category, Usain Bolt of Jamaica, alongside Mo Farah of Great Britain and Wayde Van Niekerk of South Africa would vie for the exalted position.
In the women’s category, Almaz Ayana of Ethiopia, Elaine Thompson and Anita Wlodarczyk of Poland were picked.
However, no Nigerian athlete has made the list in the last four years.
The finalists were determined by a three-way voting process. The IAAF Council’s vote counted for 50% of the result, the IAAF Family vote counted for 25% and a public vote, conducted via social media, counted for 25% of the final result.
The World Athletes of the Year will be announced live on stage at the IAAF Athletics Awards 2016.

No Comments
Leave a Comment: